Based on the residence built by Naomori Ashina in 1384, Ujisato Gamo built the first full-scale castle tower in eastern Japan in 1593 and named it “Tsurugajo” (Tsurugajo Castle).
The castle features red roof tiles (“kawara”) with iron-rich glaze to withstand the low temperatures and snowfall of the snowy region and is currently the only castle in Japan to have red roof tiles. Surrounded by rich nature, visitors can enjoy the castle’s changing appearance from season to season.
- 5-min walk from the bus stop “Tsurugajo Iriguchi” (Haikara-san Tourist Bus)
- 35-min walk from “Aizu-Wakamatsu Station”
Open 365 days
8:30 am – 5 pm (last entry 4:30 pm）
・Adults (16 years old and up): 410yen
・Children (6-15 years old): 150yen
*No entrance fee is charged to the museum store in the castle.
How to say in Japanese
Tsurugajo Castle: 鶴ヶ城 (つるがじょう/Tsuruga Jō)